F. No. 7-48/2015-PN-II Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education (PN-II Section)

New Delhi, Dated 24th June, 2017

Sub: Constitution of the Committee for the draft National Education Policy.

The National Policy on Education formulated in 1986 and modified in 1992 is the extant policy in the education sector. The Government has initiated the process of formulating a New Education Policy for which an exhaustive democratic exercise was carried for the last 30 months.

2. It has been decided to constitute a Committee for preparation of the draft National Education Policy under the Chairmanship of eminent scientist Padma Vibhushan Dr. K. Kasturirangan. The other members of the Committee are:-

- (i) Dr. Vasudha Kamat, former Vice-Chancellor of SNDT University, Mumbai
- (ii) Shri K.J. Alphonse, former IAS.
- (iii) **Dr. Manjul Bhargava**, Professor of Mathematics, Princeton University USA, Fields Medalist in Mathematics.
- (iv) Dr. Ram Shankar Kureel, Vice Chancellor of Baba Saheb Ambedkar University of Social Sciences, Madhya Pradesh.
- (v) **Prof. T.V. Kattimani**, Vice Chancellor Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak.
- (vi) Shri Krishna Mohan Tripathy, former Chairperson of Uttar Pradesh High School and Intermediate Examination Board.
- (vii) Dr. Mazhar Asif, Professor, Department of Persian, Gauhati University, Guwahati.
- (viii) **Dr. M.K.Sridhar,** former Member Secretary Karnataka Innovation Council and Karnataka Knowledge Commission, CABE member.

3. Dr. Shakila T. Shamsu, OSD (New Education Policy) will act as the Secretary to the Committee and will maintain the records of the meeting.

4. The University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi will be the Secretariat and will provide all administrative / secretarial assistance and logistic support to the Committee. The Members of the Committee will be paid TA/DA as per extant rules of the Government of India. UGC will appoint a nodal officer who will make all necessary arrangements for the Committee and its meetings, including travel, boarding and lodging of its members.

5. Suggestions/ Recommendations received in the Ministry of Human Resource Development will be handed over by the Policy Division of MHRD to the Committee. The Committee will examine various suggestions and inputs emerged during the consultations for formulating New Education Policy and prepare the Draft National Education Policy. The Committee may co-opt members and hold further consultations with experts, if that is felt necessary by them. The Committee will submit its report by 31st December 2017.

(Rakesh Ranjan) Joint Secretary to the Government of India Tel: 011-23071486

- 1. Dr K. Kasturirangan
- 2. Dr. Vasudha Kamat
- Shri K.J. Alphonse 3.
- 4. Dr. Manjul Bhargava Dr Ram Shankar Kureel
- 5.
- Dr. T.V. Kattimani 6.
- 7. Shri Krishna Mohan Tripathy
- 8. Dr. Mazhar Asif
- Dr. M.K. Sridhar 9.

Copy for kind information to:

1.	Secretary, UGC
2.	OSD (NEP)
3.	PS to HRM
4.	PS to MoS (UK) and PS to MoS (MNP)
5.	PPS to Secretary (HE)
6.	PPS to Secretary (SE&L)
7.	PS to AS(TE) / AS (SE), MHRD
8.	PS to JS(P), OSD (NEP), MHRD
9.	PN-II Section, MHRD

10. CMIS - with the request to upload the same on MHRD's website